#JanuaryWhole30 – Day 1

Hello there,

As I mentioned earlier today, I’m starting a new Whole30 and will be documenting it here to help with commitment.

In the morning I woke up earlier than I have been since kids are in vacation and was the first one to come down for breakfast. That was actually great, because it gave me the time and peace to cook something different and enjoy. Ok, ok, not so extremely different, as I cooked eggs. But… I what I mixed on it was different.

For New Years Eve celebration I cooked a Prosciutto Wrapped Stuffed Pork Tenderloin. It was delicious. But the kids don’t care about prosciutto and they don’t really like mushrooms, which were the main ingredient for the stuffing. So when I served them leftovers on the 1st, I took the wrapping and the stuffing out and saved for my breakfast today. Still delicious!

Then for the second meal, I had the last piece of the pot roast we ate Saturday at lunch, and to go with it I made green beans with mushroom on coconut aminos.

And this was the last bit of leftovers from the holidays, so we made a trip to Costco to stock on protein and other little thingies. and I bought sooo much. Got steak, ground beef, chicken, pork and trout. Also, for Christmas Santa brought me a Precision Cooker and I’ve made 3 dished with it so far. They cooked perfectly and I’m so excited about cooking sous vide now and I’ll be experimenting with it with all those different cuts of meats. Yay! Stay tuned!

But not today, for dinner today I cooked a staple in our home. The Moroccan Meatballs, from Mel Joulwan, which is a favorite. To go with it, I did a mix of carrots, parsnips and potatoes stir fried, finished with thyme and sumac, and a handful of spinach.

janw30-d1

I must confess though, that  saved 3 meatballs before cooking so I can experiment with the sous vide tomorrow… ;o)

Leave a Reply

