Whole30, day 17

Today I’m starting to get tired of this. Nothing personal, just bored maybe. So I must admit I sort of cheated a bit (not a good word, I know) and had sparkling water mixed with fruit juice (not the fruit juice on its own, though) and also an un-needed snack when I wasn’t really hungry but felt like having it.

The snack was partially Whole Foods fault. I went there for non-sugar bacon, so I can cook the Nom Nom Paleo Slow Cooker Kalua Pig. I don’t go often to Whole Foods so when I go I love browsing the entire store and always end up with more items than the ones on my list. So I grabbed a snack and couldn’t resist but having it right after leaving the store…

The items I bought there for my Whole30 (there were some dairy items for the rest of the family too, but those are not relevant here ;o):

  • Primal Kitchen mayo (made with avocado oil)
  • Baba ganouche
  • Pico de gallo
  • Salad greens
  • Tessemae’s Zesty Ranch dressing
  • Epic bison jerky
  • Epic beef jerky
  • 1 Kit’s Organic apricot and sesame seeds bar
  • 1 individual pouch of cashew butter
  • Ghee
  • and finally the bacon!

wpid-wp-1432845494936.jpeg

The snack I had was the cashew butter. It was actually hard to decide between it and the bar and the jerkys. ;o)

But other than that, the meals were all good.

In the morning I used the left over ground pork that I did not use in yesterday’s meatballs, and made a patty with onions, curry powder, salt and pepper, then I cooked it with some coconut oil. On top of that I placed 2 fried eggs and sided with half an avocado. Very filing and yummy.

wpid-wp-1432737363256.jpeg

For lunch I brought to work a can of sardines and some dressing (Tessemae’s Southwest Ranch). Then I made myself a salad on their salad bar, dressed with the dressing I brought and topped with the sardines. Finished it up with some strawberries.

wpid-wp-1432757337955.jpeg

At dinner time, we had the last meatballs from yesterday with asparagus and mini peppers. My parents were not dinning with us today, so I decided to cook with coconut oil and add some cayenne, which is typically something I can’t do if they’re here because my mom does not like either. I guess I exaggerated a bit on the cayenne I added to the asparagus, though. But it was still good. Spicy, but nice.

wpid-wp-1432791397972.jpeg

Leave a Reply

