Bok Choy, Turnips and Sweet Pepper

Last night, I decided to cook some bok choy, as requested by hubby. But I didn’t want it to feel all alone in the pan, so I opened the fridge and grabbed a couple other items to go with it.
I wasn’t sure how well they would combine, but decided to try them together anyways.
The end result was amazing and it totally exceed my expectations.
The ‘guest’ items were turnips and red sweet peppers.

For seasoning, just some salt and pepper, but I chose to use Alaea Red Sea Salt, which I absolutely love. I guess any other sea salt would to, though.
Here’s how it went…

Bok Choy Turnip Sweet Pepper

Bok Choy, Turnips and Sweet Pepper

(serves 2 not so big portions, but easy to double up…)

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp minced onion

1 head of bok choy

1/2 turnip, julienned

1/2 red sweet pepper, julienned

Alaea Red sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste.

Instructions:

Bullet1Start by julienning the turnip and the sweet peppers. For the pepper I like to cut it crosswise, so they look like little flowers, then, to make it easier to eat I cut each ‘petal’ forming hard circles.

bullet2Heat the olive oil in a frying pan and add the minced onion, sauteing it for a little while (of it if browns a bit, but don’t let it burn)

bullet3Add the turnip and sweet pepper to the pan and sautee it until the pepper just start to soften.
 

bullet4Add the bok choy, season with salt and pepper and let is cook until the leafy part is wilted and the stems are slightly softened.

bullet5Take out from the heat and enjoy!

 

It was a big hit for me and my husband yesterday (no leftovers for today’s eggs… 😦 ). We had it with beef, but the beef I must admit wasn’t too good, which made this dish the start of the meal.

I’ll surely be doing it again.

Leave a Reply

